The Board works together as a team to exercise proper supervision of the management of the Company, and are independent of the Executive Management and material business connections of the Company. The majority (four of the six members) are independent of the Company’s largest shareholder (BW Group).


Andreas Sohmen-Pao has been Chairman of the Board of BW LPG Limited since 1 September 2013.

Mr Sohmen-Pao is currently Chairman of BW Group, BW Offshore, BW Energy, Hafnia, Epic Gas and Singapore Maritime Foundation. He is also a non-executive director of Singapore National Parks Board and a trustee of the Lloyd's Register Foundation.

Mr Sohmen-Pao was previously Chief Executive Officer of BW Group. He has also served as a non-executive director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd, The London P&I Club, The Esplanade Co Ltd, Sport Singapore and the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore, amongst others.

Mr Sohmen-Pao graduated from Oxford University in England with an honours degree in Oriental Studies. He also holds an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Mr Sohmen-Pao has attended 4 of 4 Board meetings in 2019.

Born: 1971

Vice Chairman

John Barrie Harrison is an independent Non-Executive Director of BW Group and Vice Chairman of BW LPG Limited since 2013.

He is also an independent Non-Executive Director of AIA Group Limited, serving on the risk committee and nomination committee, Cathay Pacific Airways Limited and Grosvenor Asia Pacific Limited and Chair of their audit committees, and a member of Cathay Pacific Airways Limited's risk committee and safety committee.

Formerly, Mr Harrison served as an independent Non-Executive Director of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The London Metal Exchange Limited, and LME Clear Limited. Mr Harrison was previously Deputy Chairman of KPMG International, Chairman of KPMG Asia Pacific and Chairman and CEO of KPMG China and Hong Kong. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and a member of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Mr Harrison was educated at Durham University in England, from which he graduated in 1977 with a Degree in Mathematics.

Mr Harrison has attended 4 of 4 Board meetings in 2019

Born: 1956

Chief Executive Officer

Anders Onarheim has served on the BW LPG Board since 21 November 2013. Effective 1 January 2020, he is also the interim CEO of the Company.

His extensive knowledge in management, business development and capital markets was acquired when he was Managing Director in companies within Carnegie Group for over 16 years.

Prior to Carnegie, Mr Onarheim served as the Head of Equities of Enskilda Securities Norway from 1994 to 1996. From 1990 to 1994, he served as an Executive Director in the Investment Banking division of Goldman Sachs in the UK. From 1986 to 1990, he was Vice President for institutional sales in Merrill Lynch in the US and the UK. Mr Onarheim has held numerous Board memberships within different industries, and is currently Chairman of North Energy ASA and Vice Chairman of Reach Subsea ASA.

He holds an MBA from the Washington University in St. Louis, where he graduated in 1986.

Mr Onarheim has attended 4 of 4 Board meetings in 2019.

Born: 1959


Andreas Beroutsos has served on the BW LPG Board since 21 November 2013

He is a Partner, Private Equity, at HRS Management LLC. Between 2007 and 2017, he also served as the Executive Vice-President, Private Equity and Infrastructure, for la Caisse de depot et placement du Quebec, and as a Partner and Senior Managing Director at Eton Park Capital Management, where he led private investments.

Mr Beroutsos spent the first 17 years of his career at McKinsey & Co. in New York, where he was a Director and Senior Partner, serving as Head of the Global Private Equity practice and senior leader of the Financial Institutions Group. In 2013, Mr Beroutsos served on the General Council (Board of Directors) of the Hellenic Financial Stability Fund in Greece, as an independent member.

Mr Beroutsos holds BA and MBA degrees from Harvard University, both with high honours.

Mr Beroutsos has attended 4 of 4 Board meetings in 2019.

Born: 1965


Anne Grethe Dalane has served on the BW LPG Board since 21 November 2013.

She has been with Yara since 2003. Prior to this, Ms Dalane has held various senior management positions at Norsk Hydro in the areas of Human Resources, Corporate Strategy and Finance.

Her Board experience includes Hafslund, EDB Business Partners, Prosafe and Petroleum Geo Services. Ms Dalane is a certified financial analyst and holds an MBA from Norwegian School of Economics.

Ms Dalane has attended 4 of 4 Board meetings in 2019.

Born: 1960


Martha Kold Bakkevig has served on the BW LPG Board from 15 August 2017.

Ms Bakkevig currently serves as the CEO of Steinsvik Group and prior to that spent 10 years as Chief Executive Officer of DeepWell, an oil service company operating in the North Sea. Her term ended in 2016.

Ms Bakkevig has extensive experience in management, strategy and business development, and a broad academic background with a Doctorate in both technical and business strategical subjects. She holds a Master's degree and PhD from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and a Doctorate in Economics from BI Norwegian Business School.

She is also Non-Executive Director of public listed company Kongsberg Group

Ms Bakkevig has attended 4 of 4 Board meetings in 2019.

Born: 1962


© Copyright 2019 - BW LPG. All Rights Reserved.